Chapter 1

I chose this image because I feel that it matches the definition of communication that the textbook gives. The textbook gives two definitions of communication. One defines it as “who says what, through what channels of communication, to whom, and what will be the results.” The other definition provided is “the process of using symbols to exchange meaning.” I think this image fits both in its own way. In the image you see two people talking to each other and on their phone. Both of these of different channels of communication. Verbally they are communicating to each other. They are remotely communication to an outside audience on their phones. I also believe that this image is a symbol used to convey what it is to communicate.

I believe that this image also personally relates to me as well. There are many different types of ways that I communicate to others. I can go out with friends and we can catch up by talking and communication. I can also send them a snap or text to communicate. Even a simple reaction image or an emoji counts as me getting a point of meaning across to someone else.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started